Teach Me About Field Trials

For all Brittany hunting/field trial discussion.

Moderators: Barb Wright, Lisa

Teach Me About Field Trials

Postby msnider » Wed Oct 13, 2004 5:53 am

Hello All,

I am a complete novice when it comes to hunting and field trials. Can someone tell me exactly how a field trial works and how you acquire your points toward a field championship? Also, how do hunt tests work and how do you acquire your title? Thanks!

Jill
Love me, Love my Brittany.
msnider
Puppy

Postby CJ » Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:11 am

AGHHHHHHH I had this about ½ way done and it got whipped out….. here goes again….

Field trials and hunt tests are not quite as different as day and night, but its pretty close… first field trials.
FT’s are split into different “stakesâ€￾. Stakes are categories divided into eligible age groups, dog type, and handler status. This would be Puppy, Derby, All age, and Gun Dog (with open and amateur for the handler status).
Soo… Puppy, puppy is 6mo-15mo old on the day of the event. Puppy looks for the dog to cover some ground in a manner that would/should produce a bird find. Puppy is run for 20-30min.
Derby is 6mo-24mo on the day of the event, similar things looked for/judged on, but with more focus (stronger run, they dog has to point, more stylish in working, ect…). Derby is also run between 20-30min.