How do I teach my dog to find birds

For all Brittany hunting/field trial discussion.

Moderators: Barb Wright, Lisa

How do I teach my dog to find birds

Postby Janice » Wed Oct 13, 2004 6:54 pm

Last year we took both our dogs to the 'fun day' hunt test. Both the dogs did pretty well and found and pointed at least three birds. I was pretty proud of them since I've never done this before and the dogs have never had any training. Seemed like they were just natural hunters. This year my friend brought back a couple of quail wings from last weeks hunt test hoping that we'd strart training our dogs and go out with her in the future.

Tonight I brought the wings out from the freezer and started my "training". I showed them the wings and went out into the yard and placed the wing down while Blue was watching and said "find it". He didn't point it, but he went and sniffed it (actually he tried to grab it) and I praised him. I suppose you're wondering why I praised him as he's really not supposed to grab it, but I was trying to teach him the "find it". command. Anyhow we continued this for a few times then I hid it when he wasn't watching. I gave him the "find it" command and he'd just looked at me like "mom, give me the bird". He did eventually go and look for it in places I had originally placed it. But he actually wasn't looking for it on his own for the most part, mostly just staring at me demanding I give him the wing.

Obviously, I don't know what the heck I'm doing. Can anyone offer me any tips. Quite frankly they did better on their own out in the field with me just pretty much following them along and letting them do their thing.

Janice
Janice
Good Citizen
Good Citizen

Re: How do I teach my dog to find birds

Postby CJ » Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:13 pm